Life of Gautam Buddha Wheel of Life Basics of Buddhism
History of Buddhism Buddhist Morality Four Noble Truths
Buddhist Cosmology Instructions for  Live Happy Life The Eightfold Path
The Theory of Karma in Buddhism Buddhist Hymns and Prayers The Kalama Sutta
Festivals of Buddhism Basic Buddhist Vocabulary
Wallpapers of Lord Buddha Symbols of Buddhism
Personal Ceremonies - Marriages / Funeral Rites

Symbolism In Buddhism

Triratna (Three Jewels) Symbol

 triratna - Buddhist symbol

The triratna symbol represents the Triple Gem or Three Jewels of Buddhism, which are the three core values of:

  1. Buddha
  2. Dharma (the teachings)
  3. Sangha (the monastic community)

These are also known as the Three Refuges, which are recited as part of Buddhist ordination ceremonies: "I take refuge in the Buddha; I take refuge in the Dharma; I take refuge in the Sangha."

The triratna symbol is a simple three-branched shape, like a rounded 'W.' It bears some resemblance to the trishula in Hinduism. The triratna appears in early Buddhist art in various contexts, but especially as one of the symbols on the Buddhapada, or footprint of the Buddha.

The triratna is often accompanied by lotus flowers symbolizing Enlightenment, and the dharmachakra (wheel), symbolizing the Buddha's teachings.